Hello world!

Feeling the “call to action”, it is no longer enough to read books, blogs, emails, and various other posts alone. Feeling the passion for fairness, equality, democracy, reparation, I move toward action. Like a surgeon, I want to follow the learning pattern: SEE ONE, DO ONE, TEACH ONE.

It is my hope that you, dear reader, will see my blog, create an entry of your own, then move others to create the next blog. Let’s fill the blogosphere with light, information, correction, clarity and honesty. Let’s talk about those actions that have been taken that put us as a nation, and as individual citizens, where we are today and let us share with each other, and those parties best situated to have an impact moving toward fixing the problems, what needs to be done to reduce the poverty we see around us everyday in every town and state across America. If it is true that all boats rise on a high tide, let that tide begin here and now as a means to change the game, pull back the curtain, and move to action.

In recent days, following a series of classes I taught on Money Management, I have been reading various books on the Financial Meltdown of 2008, including those focusing specifically on banking and real estate issues, politics, race, sexism and the growth of a two class culture in America from what was once a three class culture. As thousands of middle-class families joined the lower class in this newly defined culture of poverty, I, like many others began to ask the usual questions. What is happening? How did it happen? What is our government and the corporate structure doing to remedy the problem? And lastly, what can I do to make my own life, and that of others better?

In the days preceding 2008 I remember reading a wonderful magazine story on the impact of race and poverty on individual health. I was shocked to learn that poverty was the primary indicator for diminishing the level of health. Fast forward to 2008 as millions suddenly swell the numbers of people joining the ranks of the poor. Now this is personal, ever the wake up call to many of us!

In the midst of all this comes a steady assault on the recently passed healthcare bill of 2010. I begin to connect the dots. I go to my local bookstore and gather recently published books on political issues, banking, real estate, poverty, race, and more. I start to volunteer to register voters, I develop a Money Management class for my local literacy center and sign on to teach another Finance course for the domestic violence center. I add my email address to those action groups providing news and actions to begin building a circle of information and involvement.

Like “love”, “caring” is a verb, that requires ACTION to have life.

About ladiessewingcircleandterroristsociety

Former 60's activist, lived "the American dream", then came 2008. Consciousness expanding with books, politicking, volunteerism, teaching a Financial Management class, and more. Now, it's time to share, expounding, rabble-rouse, move toward activism. Won't you join me? My goal is to lift the veil, to expose lies and misunderstandings, to develop a dialogue, to enlarge the circle, to impact those who remain "victims" of a system they do not understand and did not choose.

Leave a Reply

